Playing the waiting game

Tomorrow we have our appointment with the consultant to go through my mid-chemo scan results. It feels wrong to be wishing time away but the waiting is agony! Have the aliens bowed under the pressure of 4 rounds of poison? Are we winning?

All the signs point to some degree of positive news: the swelling has all but disappeared;  I can eat bigger portion sizes; I’ve been able to start to eat more ‘real’ fruit and veg… but I’m wary of getting my hopes up too much. After all, I’m only halfway through the treatment and there’s a fair way to go still.

I am very fortunate however in having an amazing support network of friends and family to help me pass the time and fatten me up with coffee, cake and other goodies. This week is dedicated to the letter ‘P’. ‘P’ for pies – apple pie with Richard in Chipping Norton and a fab trip to Pieminster with Roberta and Owen; ‘P’ for party with a long overdue celebration of Sam and my birthdays at Sojo’s tonight; ‘P’ for pouring rain (Nice to know that Oxford bus drivers are as inconsiderate to pedestrians as they are to cyclists. Thank you no.5 for flooring your vehicle on the approach to an enormous puddle and soaking me to the skin.)

One day to go…

“All human wisdom is summed up in two words – wait and hope” Alexandre Dumas

“Patience is waiting. Not passively waiting. That is laziness. But to keep going when the going is hard and slow – that is patience” Anon

4 thoughts on “Playing the waiting game

  1. All the best for tomorrow, Naomi. I’ll be keeping everything crossed for you. It sounds like youre doing a fabulous job of battering the aliens into submission!

Leave a Reply

