Tortuous paths

Today’s edition comes to you courtesy of Starbucks Oxford wifi as our home internet has died. This morning I spent a fairly torturous hour and a half on the phone to various departments of BT, each involving their own unique series of farcical conversations.

(After a painful 20 minutes of faffing and putting me on hold while they performed technical checks)

BT – Our checks confirm your line is fine

Me – That’s all well and good but my internet still doesn’t work

BT – Well in that case we suggest we send out an engineer out to check your hub. Since it dates from 2007 it is out of warranty so the engineer call out will be at a cost of £100.

Me – And if the engineer confirms the hub is no longer fit for purpose, a new one will cost…

BT – £99.99

Me – So can you tell me why on earth I would want to wait a week to pay £100 for an engineer to tell me my 2007 hub is knackered and pay £99 for another one when I could just switch provider or indeed just open a new contract with BT and start again from scratch with a brand new hub for free?!

BT – Perhaps it would be helpful if I transferred you to another department…

Half an hour of hideous ‘elevator’ music and 2 BT departments later, I finally reach a resolution whereby, in exchange for renewing our contract, we get a £6 monthly reduction on our bills and a commitment that a brand new hub will be dispatched to arrive tomorrow. Fingers crossed!

I got there eventually, but the experience did get me thinking though how many times in life we end up having to take these crazy circuitous paths to get to what should be a simple, straightforward end point. Fortunately, the same can’t be said – at least based on my experience so far – of the slick and efficient way in which my Cancer treatment has progressed. From the word go, we’ve known where we’re going, how we’re going to get there and what the key milestones will be. Right now the key date for us is the 19th April when we get the results from the scans I’ll have after my fourth chemo cycle. Once again, fingers crossed!

Chemo cycle 3

 

Leave a Reply

